Razorbill | Penguin Random House 2020

YA fantasy
ISBN:  1984835211 (ISBN-13: 9781984835215)
View on GoodreadsRead the first 4 chapters

Buy From:  Indiebound | Barnes & Noble | Amazon | Book Depository

A race for the crown. A girl destined to die.
A weapon more powerful than any blade.

Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, this enthralling fantasy adventure follows a sixteen-year-old girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.


Praise for The Kinder Poison

“… a delicious high-stakes adventure.”
People Magazine, Best Books to Read Summer 2020

Amazon Best Book of 2020 so far
Amazon Best Young Adult Book of the Month: June 2020

★ “Zahru’s unexpectedly humorous inner voice, the rich worldbuilding full of political intrigue, a slow-burning romance, and a fantastic set of well-developed characters (both friends and foes) mark this exciting and refreshing tale of power and accountability. A funny, rewarding story for fans of optimistic tales with a bite.”
Kirkus, starred review

★ “With characters to love, to hate, and to love to hate, plus a plot full of adventure skillfully woven with suspense, this is a must-purchase for all YA collections.”
School Library Journal, starred review

The Kinder Poison delivers a deadly dose of danger and ancient magic in a cleverly penned YA fantasy, perfect for fans of An Ember in the Ashes or Three Dark Crowns. Like a coiled snake, it’s full of wicked surprises.”
— Colleen Oakes, bestselling author of the Queen of Hearts series

“Betrayal, sibling rivalries, and a crafty girl stuck in the middle, The Kinder Poison is a heartfelt, magical tale that swept me away like a desert storm.”
— Brenda Drake, New York Times bestselling author of Thief of Lies

“A captivating tale of duty versus dreams, woven through with a unique system of magic and a push-pull romance that will have you demanding the sequel. Magically seductive!”
— Lori Goldstein, author of Screen Queens and Becoming Jinn

“The best fantasy I’ve read in years. The Kinder Poison will grip you from the very first page and refuse to let go, sweeping you into an unforgettable adventure and leaving you breathless. Get ready for your newest obsession.”
— Chelsea Bobulski, author of Remember Me 

“Zahru is a witty, engaging narrator whose supernatural skills might be lacking but whose ability to throw out some epic one-line zingers is well honed and highly satisfying. The heirs are surprisingly nuanced as three once-loving siblings pitted against one another. A thrilling trip across sandswept dunes with a shocking ending that points to a dramatic sequel.” — BCCB

“A great cross-country race, sibling rivalry, magic gifts (or lack thereof), and unlikely love all come together in a delicious stew of adventure. As in other fantasies, magical ability and ability type help determine someone’s value, but Mae bestows additional complexity on her characters by deliberately exploring the human traits that shape them as well.” — Booklist

“The engaging cast stands out, especially the antagonists, whose well-developed backgrounds ensure sustained narrative tension. Zahru’s amusing mental dialogue and nascent romance complement the fast-paced plot, resulting in an entertaining duology opener.” — Publishers Weekly